Colton Herta skids to win the Indianapolis Grand Prix in the rain


Image for article titled Colton Herta Drifts to Win Rain-soaked Grand Prix of Indianapolis

Photo: Penske Entertainment/Chris Jones

The month of May is underway at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The NTT IndyCar Series raced today on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course at the GMR Grand Prix. The start of the race was brought forward to avoid thunderstorms, but was later delayed to the original time due to lightning. The threat of rain in general what is the focal point of the race.

Penske’s Will Power started from the pole but lost the lead at the end of Hulman Boulevard straight ahead on the first lap. Power went three wide with teammate Josef Newgarden and Ganassi’s Álex Palou. This allowed Palou to take the lead. And while Power pushed Newgarden off the track, McLaren’s Pato O’Ward moved up to second place in spectacular fashion. It wasn’t long until McLaren had a 1-2 at the front, but the racing surface didn’t stay wet for a long time.

As track conditions improved, Andretti’s Colton Herta was the first driver to use dry weather tires. Herta’s pace immediately showed the rest of the field that they must stop as well. Herta was able to undercut McLaren’s Felix Rosenqvist and passed Pato O’Ward after spinning at Turn 8.

Things would start to spiral out of control on lap 42 of 85 when the rain finally came. O’Ward attempted to pass Herta into the first corner on a restart and they made contact. Duck turned directly into the path of Rosenqvist, damaging his teammate’s front wing. There was a seemingly endless stretch of caution as drivers lost control in the dynamic conditions. And at one point, Penske’s Scott McLaughlin took the lead in a race out of the pits and then spun just before the restart.

Colton Herta won the GMR Grand Prix after the final caution was thrown with less than two minutes to go. Juan Pablo Montoya crashed his McLaren into the wall and smashed the left side of his car. It was honestly frustrating to see the race constantly stalled because teams were actively choosing to use the wrong tire to maintain track position and hoping the weather would turn in their favor.

Race Results – Top 10

  1. colton hertha
  2. Simon Pagenaud
  3. I want power
  4. Marcus Ericson
  5. conor daly
  6. Felix Rosenqvist
  7. takuma sato
  8. callum llot
  9. Christian Lundgaard
  10. Scott Dixon

IndyCar will return next weekend for the Time Trails for the 106th running of the Indianapolis 500.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here