It’s hotter outside, so you may want to buy more ice cream than usual. But if you’re allergic to certain ingredients, you should be aware of several ice cream recalls due to undeclared allergens. That includes a new Planet Oat ice cream recall that was just announced.
earlier, Van Leeuwen recalled a brand of ice cream after discovering that it contains two nuts (cashews and pistachios) that are not listed on the label. A few weeks ago we reported on a bigger memory regarding various types of ice cream, including flavors that might have contained undeclared peanuts.
The new Planet Oat ice cream recall also addresses peanut allergies. Two different flavors may contain peanuts without any mention of the common allergen on the label.
Planet Oat ice cream recall
HP Hood announced the recall of Planet Oat ice cream earlier this week. The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) shared the announcement in this link.
HP Hood is recalling 4,481 cases of Planet Oat Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough and Planet Oat Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert with a best by date of 12/17/22.
These are the identifiers of the two products:
- Planet Oat Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert, One Pint – Item Number: 70986, UPC: 44100709869
- Planet Oat Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Non-Dairy Frozen Dessert, One Pint – Item Number: 70990, UPC: 44100709906
The company distributed the two Planet Oat products nationally in the continental United States. Additionally, HP Hood shipped the two recall ice cream flavors to Alaska, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, St. Maarten and the Cayman Islands.
A retail customer discovered that the ice cream contained undeclared peanuts and contacted HP Hood. The company discovered that it had packed some Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl into a container of chocolate chip cookie dough.
The first contains peanuts, but the packaging does not mention the ingredient.
People who suffer from peanut allergies will experience symptom by consuming products containing the ingredient. Eating ice cream from Planet Oat containers at the retreat could trigger symptoms.
Adverse reactions may be immediate and may include skin reactions (hives, redness, swelling), itching or tingling in the mouth and throat, digestive problems (diarrhoea, cramps, nausea or vomiting), throat tightness, difficulty breathing or wheezing, and a runny nose.
Allergic reactions can be life-threatening for people with severe allergies. These people may experience symptoms of anaphylaxis. They may not be able to breathe as their airways constrict. Blood pressure may drop and pulse rate may increase. Additionally, anaphylaxis can cause dizziness, lightheadedness, and loss of consciousness.
That said, HP Hood said it has not yet received any reports of illness from customers who purchased the two flavors of Planet Oat ice cream at the recall.
What should you do
If you have containers of Planet Oat ice cream at home, you should make sure they are not part of the recall. The company advises customers not to consume the products. Instead, they can return the ice cream to the place of purchase for a full refund or exchange.
Planet Oat ice cream is still good to eat if you don’t suffer from peanut allergies. But keeping it at home is risky, as you could inadvertently serve it to someone with a peanut allergy.
Customers who think they have experienced allergic reactions after eating Planet Oat ice cream should contact their physicians.
Finally, be sure to read the full Plant Oat recall press release. Contains additional information, including company contact information. you’ll find it on the FDA website.